Skip to content

Libya’s Iced Lattes

May 12, 2011

Today Mahmoud Jibril Elwarfally, the Interim Prime Minister of the Transitional National Council of Libya, spoke at Brookings. I haven’t watched it yet. But then Max Boot wrote about Libya, and oh. I couldn’t help myself. I’m sorry.

_____

Jibril: Recognize us or Libya falls apart!

Obama: What? Who are you? How’d you get in here?

Max Boot: I think I have a solution to Libya, Mr. President. Just get it right.

Obama: Seriously, how do you people keep getting in here? Why do I even have Secret Service?

MBoot: You’re incoherent, Mr. P. You have no goals.

Jibril: RECOGNIZE US AND GIVE US MONEY OTHERWISE GADDAFI FOREVER.

Obama:  What? No. This is stupid. Go away.

MBoot: Mr. President, I think you should take my advice: Just. Get. It. Right.

Obama: What does that even mean? I’m not refusing to get it right. It’s a complex situation…

MBoot: [cutting in] Recognize the Transitional National Council!

Jibril: RECOGNIZE!

Obama: … with a lot of moving pieces and no clear solution. What? You said it yourself, that’s just a symbolic gesture. What does recognition have to do with getting us out of this mess?

MBoot: Oh, Mr. P, you misunderstood. I don’t want us out of this mess. I want ground troops. Ground troops come with iced lattes. And I love a good iced latte in a desert.

Obama: … yeah I’m out.

Jibril: ICED LATTES!

_____

With gratitude to Max Boot for teaching me that if I just tell people to get it right,

I’ve done my job as a public commentator-type. 

_____

(I swear this isn’t turning into a sad-attempt-at-comedy blog.

… okay, maybe it is. It’s been a rough week.)

Comments are closed.

